Homemade Ghee

IMG_6027Ghee is absolutely my cooking oil of choice. I’m so glad I started making it as it’s a very easy, gentle process and shop bought ghee can be really quite expensive.

I love ghee for so many reasons! It’s a really healthy fat to cook with. I personally do not eat processed vegetable oils (which eliminates pretty much all processed food – another good thing) as they are highly inflammatory and alien to our body. They are often produced with chemicals and hydrogen but that is a whole other topic.

Ghee on the other hand is a natural fat that our bodies can recognise. It can have many benefits, some of which are – immunity boosting, digestion aid, helps us assimilate nutrients and antiviral properties. It’s also very versatile, has a great flavour and a high smoke point.

Some great books to read up on that will help you understand or make your mind up about the mystery of fats/how they interact with our bodies as well as food in general are –

Gut and Psychology Syndrome (GAPS) By Dr. Natasha Campbell-McBride. This one is a must read!

Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon

In Defense of Food by Michael Pollen.

These books are especially helpful if you have any stomach trouble or intolerance’s or want to better understand food and how exactly our bodies react to what we put in it.

More on all that in another post as we could chat about that forever. But I do encourage you to research food as much as you can. Make sure your sources are diverse and be aware of where funding for the research is coming from. Many health organisations get their funding from companies which I feel creates a conflict of interest.

So, where were we?

Ghee. So simple, you just need one ingredient.

 

Ingredients –

Unsalted organic butter.

I used my homemade butter (recipe for which is already posted) but you are welcome to use shop bought as long as it is organic and grass-fed.

 

Method –

Place your butter in a pan, I used about 370 g of homemade butter but it’s up to you how much you want to make.

Turn the heat onto low. You want to bring it to a very, very gentle simmer.

You will notice foam starting to form on the surface. Take a spoon and skim off into a separate bowl.

IMG_6003Continue to do this until no more foam or inclusions are rising to the surface and your ghee is clear and aromatic.

We don’t want to simmer vigorously, in fact I turn my heat right down so just one or two bubbles pop up every now and then.

We do not want to burn or even colour it. At all.

I find with shop bought butter this process usually takes around 25 minutes for a standard 250 g block. With my homemade butter it seems to take longer. Around 45 to 60 minutes. I think this is because my homemade butter must have more buttermilk in it (I also used a little more than 250 g) whereas the shop ones obviously manage to remove a lot more of the buttermilk.

The thing I love about cooking is some things just can’t be rushed and this is one of them. Take it slow and enjoy the fact that it is this way. So much is rushed these days. I find it quite therapeutic skimming the foam off and ending up with the golden liquid at the end. I get so much happiness from these seemingly dull food processes. You’re creating one of the fundamental bases of your healthy diet and that’s a lovely thing.

Once you are happy with the clarity – take your pan and pour the liquid through a sieve lined with cheese cloth to remove any remaining milk solids into a jar.

IMG_6009You’ll be left with the most gorgeous, happy, golden liquid. It always makes me happy looking at this.

Let cool, then put the lid on the jar and store in the fridge.

 

Please note – I am in no way a professional nutritional/health expert or medical professional. These are recipes and information that work for me personally and are based on my own research.

Always consult a registered medical professional before making any dietary/lifestyle changes. Especially if you are on medication or have a pre-existing condition.

IMG_6024

Leave a Reply

